top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerheckroth94

You Are Enough


Senegal cohort arriving in Dakar

"YOU ARE ENOUGH" We were told these words over and over again at our two week orientation in Chicago. They were words that, if I'm being completely honest, flew in one ear and out the other the majority of the time. Between feeling completely overwhelmed, forming amazing friendships, and working through really intense ideas and conversations about race and privilege, the thought of my worth fell pretty low on my priority list. But now, being here in Senegal for over a week, I'm starting to see the importance of those words.

Living in a country where you don't understand the language or the customs can be intimidating at the very least. But what i've noticed more than anything, is the importance the Senegalese place on being in relationship with each other. Earlier this week, we participated in a Senegalese culture orientation class. In addition to learning the etiquette of eating 'around the bowl' we were introduced to the importance of greetings. In Senegal, greetings and goodbyes can take an upwards of ten minutes on average. Coming from the Pacific Northwest, where I feel like I'm overly friendly when I give someone an acknowledging head nod from across the room, this came as a major shock. However, when we took a step back and thought about the reasoning behind their long greetings, it all can be boiled back down to the phrase "you are enough." Our teacher explained that you don't greet animals, but a person, no matter how insignificant they may be in your life, deserves their humanity to be recognized. The simplicity of their reasoning is difficult to argue.

I think about all the times in my life when I am so focused on my phone or what's going on for the rest of the day that I don't even look up for long enough to say "hi, how are you today?" to the people I'm interacting with. When did our lives in the U.S become so busy that we can't even find the time in our schedule to acknowledge each other's presence in the world? Being confronted with the Senegalese culture, I've been forced to address the fact that a person's worth isn't dependent on anything more than the fact that they are human. That alone is enough to warrant my time and attention.

Being here in Senegal, unable to communicate and stumbling along trying not to accidentally offend anyone, I've been faced with the fact that there is nothing special that I did to deserve to be here, having this experience. But what has been even more surprising is recognizing that I am enough and I am deserving regardless of the talents and accomplishments I bring to the table (or lack there of). Living in a culture that does not put emphasis or importance on your job, your level of education, or how well you perform various sports or hobbies, makes you reevaluate how you define yourself. The concept that "I am enough" is only just now starting to sink in. I can't wait to see how this notion will shape me after an entire year. I invite you all to ponder this idea with me and think about the way in which you interact with people on a daily basis and how freeing it can be to embrace the fact that you too are enough, just as you are!


Blessings from Dakar, Senegal!

95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page